Public Document Pack MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of County Council held at Remote Meeting on Thursday, 10th September, 2020 at 2.00 pm

PRESENT: County Councillor S. Woodhouse (Chairman) County Councillor S.B. Jones (Vice Chairman)

> County Councillors: D. Batrouni, J.Becker, D. Blakebrough, L.Brown, A.Davies, D. Dovey, L.Dymock, A. Easson, R. Edwards, D. Evans, M.Feakins, P.A. Fox, R.J.W. Greenland, M.Groucutt, R. Harris, J. Higginson, G. Howard, S. Howarth, R.John, D. Jones, L.Jones, P. Jones, S. Jones, P. Jordan, M.Lane, P. Murphy, P.Pavia, M. Powell, J.Pratt, R.Roden, V. Smith, B. Strong, F. Taylor, T.Thomas, J.Treharne, J.Watkins, A. Watts and A. Webb

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Matt Phillips Paul Matthews Peter Davies Will McLean John Pearson Nicola Perry Frances O'Brien Matthew Gatehouse Head of Law/ Monitoring Officer Chief Executive Chief Officer, Resources Chief Officer for Children and Young People Local Democracy Manager Senior Democracy Officer Chief Officer, Enterprise Head of Policy and Governance

APOLOGIES:

County Councillors P. Clarke, L. Guppy and K. Williams

1. Declarations of interest

None.

2. To elect a Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2020/21

Council observed a minute silence in respect of those affected by the COVID 19 pandemic and the passing of MCC colleague Alan Browne and former Lord Lieutenant of Gwent, Sir Simon Boyle.

Monmouthshire County Council has been awarded a Gold Award by Wales and West Midlands Reserve Forces & Cadets Association. This award is in recognition of the ongoing support given by Monmouthshire County Council to our Armed Forces. The Chairman offered a special thank you to our Officer Joe Skidmore of the Community and Partnerships Team, and Armed Forces Champion Cllr. Laura Jones MS.

The Leader addressed Council and, on behalf of the Council, thanked County Councillor Woodhouse for her year in office, and reflected on the work and achievements of the Chairman.

It was proposed by County Councillor P. Fox, and duly seconded by Councillor P. Murphy, that County Councillor S. Woodhouse be elected, and remain as Chairman of Monmouthshire County Council for the Civic Year 2020/21. Upon being put to the vote it was unanimously agreed to elect Councillor Woodhouse as Chairman.

County Councillor S. Woodhouse made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of County Council held at Remote Meeting on Thursday, 10th September, 2020 at 2.00 pm

Councillor Howarth endorsed the comments of the Leader, adding that Councillor Woodhouse is well respected and has led our Council well through this difficult period.

3. <u>To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2020/21</u>

It was moved by County Councillor R. Greenland and seconded by County Councillor P. Jordan that County Councillor B. Jones remain as Vice Chairman of the County Council for the Civic Year 2020/21.

Upon being put to the vote it was resolved that County Councillor B. Jones be appointed as Vice Chairman.

County Councillor Jones made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Vice Chairman thanked Members for their support.

4. Public Questions

None.

5. Receipt of petitions

None.

6. <u>To elect the Leader of the Council and to receive notification of Leader delegations</u> (appointments to the Cabinet)

County Councillor R. Greenland moved that County Councillor P. Fox be elected as Leader of the Council. This was duly seconded by County Councillor P. Murphy.

There were no further nominations and upon being put to the vote it was resolved that County Councillor P. Fox be elected as Leader of the Council.

Councillor Fox expressed thanks to Council for his re-election and took the opportunity to thank Cabinet colleagues for their work over the previous year. He advised that there were no changes to Cabinet delegations.

7. <u>Representation of Political Groups</u>

The Leader presented the report as Council is required to review at, or as soon as practicable after, the Council's annual meeting, the representation of different political groups on the bodies to which the Council makes appointments.

Upon being put to the vote Council resolved to accept the recommendation:

To accept the report (and appendices) as a review under Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and to initially allocate ordinary committees with the numbers as indicated below as a fair representation:

MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of County Council held at Remote Meeting on Thursday, 10th September, 2020 at 2.00 pm

Committee					
	Con	Lab	Lib Dem	Ind Gp	Ind
Select (x 5) (9)	26	9	3	6	1
Licensing & Regulatory (12)	7	3	1	1	0
Planning (16)	9	3	1	2	1
Democratic Services (12)	7	3	1	1	0
Audit (11)	7	2	1	1	0
note – this excludes 1 lay					
Aggregate Entitlement (96)	56	20	7	11	2

That the 2 Planning Committee seats allocated to the Independent Group continue to be filled by representatives of the Conservative and Labour Groups only with the permission of the Independent Group Leader.

8. <u>Appointments to Committees</u>

The Leader presented a report to appoint committees, together with their membership and terms of reference in accordance with the Council's Constitution.

Council resolved to accept the committees as recommended in the report.

To elect a Chair of Democratic Services Committee County Councillor S. Howarth nominated County Councillor D. Jones, seconded by County Councillor D. Blakebrough. County Councillor D. Batrouni nominated County Councillor M. Groucutt, seconded by County Councillor A. Easson.

Upon being put to the vote County Councillor D. Jones was elected as Chair of Democratic Services Committee.

9. Appointments to Outside Bodies

Council received the report to appoint representatives to serve on outside bodies.

Amendments were made as follows:

- County Councillor R. Greenland removed from Education Achievement Service, replaced by County Councillor P. Murphy.
- County Councillor L. Brown added as local member to Pratts Charity.
- Monmouthshire Sportlot Community Chest Committee no longer exists remove from list.
- Brecon Beacons National Park now 1 member County Councillor A. Webb

We heard that Monmouthshire Housing Association is undergoing a restructure of its board and will be reappointing new board members on a skills basis. It is proposed that there will be a political and tenants committee to sit below the board. Further information will be received in due course.

Upon being put to the vote Council resolved to approve the recommendation:

That the Council make appointments to the outside bodies set out in the attached schedule, with the exception of joint committees listed in Category B, which are Cabinet appointments.

MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of County Council held at Remote Meeting on Thursday, 10th September, 2020 at 2.00 pm

10. Audit Committee Annual Report

Mr. Phillip White, Chair of Audit Committee presented the Audit Committee Annual Report 2019/20. The report showed how the Committee had fulfilled its role as defined by the terms of reference.

The report was seconded by County Councillor Higginson and accepted by Council.

11. <u>To confirm the minutes of the meeting of County Council held on 16th July 2020</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 16th July 2020 were confirmed and signed by the chair.

The meeting ended at 3.05 pm